While attending birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, bridal showers, and almost every occasion you will find beautiful cakes decorated according to the party theme or concerning the person’s choice. Cakes are a popular choice in celebrating every occasion from personal to corporate. Many popular baking shows are being aired on channels showing beautifully decorated cakes. Thinking about these cakes smooth seamless draped cakes image pops into our minds. This smooth covering is made out of fondant. You’ve probably heard the term fondant many times, but you may not be sure what it is? In this article, we will discuss what is fondant and How To Make Fondant Icing Without Gelatin? How it made and used? and how to make fondant without gelatin?
Fondant when used properly gives cakes a smooth, seamless cover that makes it an ideal new canvas for unlimited decoration options. The purpose of fondant is similar to other decorating mediums such as buttercream and traditional European marzipan. Though fondant has little flavor and is usually not very good to taste and is often removed from baked goods before eating.
Below, we explain what fondant icing is, what it’s made out of and its uses, and importantly how to make fondant without gelatin?
Fondant is simply an icing that is used to cover cakes and other baked goods. Usually, it is rolled into flat thin sheets and then draped over the cake’s surface to create a beautiful even presentation.
Because of fondant’s soo many qualities, it is considered a versatile icing and is chosen by many bakers for decorating purposes.
The basic ingredients for fondant are sugar, water, and corn syrup. There is more structures form of fondants are there which are used for sculpting, they consist of gelatin, which contains an ingredient, collagen that comes from animals. For a vegetarian-friendly fondant, agar agar powder is used which is a thickener that is obtained from seaweed. Some bakers also choose to use marshmallow fondant on their cakes, which are made from melted marshmallows, powdered sugar, and water.
Looking at the ingredients mentioned above Yes, fondant is 100% edible.
As mentioned above mostly fondant icings contain gelatin which is a collagen derived from animal bones and therefore, it is not vegan friendly and non-vegetarian. Below is a recipe that is appropriate for both vegans and vegetarians. The replacement for gelatin in this recipe is agar-agar powder, which results in something equally as good as the fondant with collagen.
Look for food-grade vegetable glycerin and organic powdered sugar to make sure it is vegan and vegetarian friendly.